Roseville Big Band Concert at Edinborough Park, October 19, 2014, 7:00 - 8:00 p.m.
Band: Wear summer shirts and black slacks.

Click here for pictures from the concert.

Directed by Glen Newton

Don't Sit Under the Apple Tree by Lew Brown, Charles Tobias, and Sam Stept (1942)
(featuring the Rosetones vocal quartet, with vocal solos by Kirk Lindberg and Karen Dunn)

Introduction of the vocal quartet to the audience.

I Can't Stop Loving You by Don Gibson (1958), arr. by Dave Wolpe; Ray Charles' 1962 mega-hit
(featuring a solo by trombonist Keith Miner)

Moonglow by Will Hudson, Eddie DeLange and Irving Mills (1934), arr. by Mike Carubia
(featuring the Rosetones)

Monster Big Band Mash by Bobby "Boris" Pickett and Leonard Capizzi (1962), arr. by Glen Newton
(featuring Glen Newton as the Mad Scientist/rapper and Jim Foster as Igor the assistant; with Bill Pearson on the baritone sax)

Introduction of the trombone section to the audience.

I'll Never Smile Again/Dream Medley, arr. by Mike Carubia; "I'll Never Smile Again" by Ruth Lowe (1938), the Tommy Dorsey version stayed at #1 on the Billboard charts for 12 weeks in 1940; "Dream" by Johnny Mercer (1944), originally written as a theme for his radio program
(featuring the Rosetones)

Introduction of Maine Coon Cats SoftNotes Red Cloud of Gator Maine "Red" (shaded cameo and white) and Colorofcat I Got the Blues "Oscar" (blue tabby and white) to the audience.

The Maine Coon Cat Waltz by Glen Newton (2014), a tribute to the "gentle giants" of the cat world; first performance of the big band version of the song!
(play F & G twice. 1st time at F: Glen Peterson on tenor sax, 1st time at G: Glen Newton on vibraphone, 2nd time at F: Greg Michnay on trombone, 2nd time at G: Dan Theobald on flugelhorn)

Introduction of the saxophone section to the audience.

Chattanooga Choo Choo by Mack Gordon and Harry Warren (1941), trans. by Jeff Hest, as played by Glenn Miller and his orchestra
(featuring the Rosetones, with a solo by Ann Booth, piano)

Straighten Up and Fly Right by Nat King Cole and Irving Mills (1944), arr. by Stephen Bulla
(featuring vocalist Keith Miner, with a band vocal and instrumental solos by Ann Booth on piano and Jason Swalley on guitar)

Introduction of the trumpet and flugelhorn section to the audience.

Love is Here to Stay by George and Ira Gershwin (1938), arr. by Dave Wolpe; vocal quartet arr. by Glen Newton
(featuring the Rosetones, with a vocal solo by Kirk Lindberg and a trumpet solo by Dan Theobald)

On a Slow Boat to China by Frank Loesser and Kay Kyser (1948), arr. by Myles Collins
(featuring vocalists Kirk Lindberg and Karen Dunn)

Introduction of the rhythm section to the audience.

Georgia On My Mind by Hoagy Carmichael and Stuart Gorrell (1930), arr. by Dave Wolpe; Gorrell wrote the lyrics for Hoagy's sister, Georgia Carmichael, but since the ambiguity of the lyrics made it apply equally well to a woman or a state, it became the official song of the State of Georgia in 1979.
(featuring the Rosetones, with a tenor sax solo by Glen Peterson)

All Saints Go Marching Out by Glen Newton (2013), originally a postlude for Metro Brass to play on All Saints Day; first performance of the big band version of the song!
(solo at D: Rich Eyman on trombone; play E 4 times. 1st time at E: Bill Frank on alto sax; 2nd time at E: Dan Desmonds on tenor sax trading fours with Travis Shepard on bass trombone; 3rd time at E: Kay Foster on clarinet; last time at E (with the "last time" backgrounds): Mark Syman on trumpet; solo at F: Glen Peterson on tenor sax)

Roseville Big Band performers for this concert (left to right):

Saxes (left to right): Glen Peterson (tenor), Bill Frank (alto), Kay Foster (alto and clarinet), Dan Desmonds (tenor), and Bill Pearson (baritone)
Trumpets and Flugelhorns (left to right): Dan Theobald, Mark Syman, Mark Lee, and Bob Nielsen
Trombones (left to right): Rich Eyman, Keith Miner, Greg Michnay, and Travis Shepard (bass trombone); Glen Newton played trombone while Keith Miner sang.
Rhythm (front to back): Glen Newton (vibraphone), Ann Booth (piano), Jason Swalley (guitar), Ron Rasmussen (bass), and Jim Foster (drums)
Vocalists: The Rosetones (right to left) (Kirk Lindberg, Diane Dolinar, Karen Dunn, and Glen Newton) and Keith Miner

This concert was videorecorded by producer John Rusterholz and other public access television volunteers for broadcast on Channel 15, CTV North Suburbs in the ten-city area served by the North Suburban Cable Commission.

The live audience numbered around 250.

This page was last updated
Friday, June 18, 2021.

Home | About Us | Public Performances | Sit-in Nights | CDs | Meet the Band | Picture Gallery | FAQs | Songs | History | Contact Us | Search | Members' Corner